The story

Jewish rituals and symbols

Jewish services are held in a temple called the synagogue and are commanded by a priest known as a rabbi. The sacred symbol of Judaism is the memorandum, seven-armed chandelier.

Memorah: Sacred Chandelier

Among the rituals we can mention the circumcision of boys (at 8 days of age) and Bar Mitzvah which represents the initiation into adulthood for boys and Bat Mitzvah for girls (at 12 years old).

Jewish men wear the little cap, which represents respect for God at the time of prayer.

In the synagogues, there is an ark, which represents the connection between God and the Jewish people. In this ark are kept the holy scrolls of the Torah.

The Jewish Feasts

The dates of the Jewish religious festivals are mobile, as they follow a lunisolar calendar. The main ones are as follows:
Purim - Jews celebrate the salvation of a massacre prepared by the Persian king Assucro.
Passover (Passover) - The liberation from slavery of the Jewish people in Egypt is celebrated in 1300 BC.
Shavuot - celebrates the revelation of the Torah to the people of Israel, around 1300 BC.
Rosh Hashanah - The Jewish New Year is celebrated.
Yom Kippur - considered the day of forgiveness. The Jews fast for 25 hours straight to purify the spirit.
Sukkot refers to the 40-year pilgrimage through the desert after the release from captivity of Egypt.
Hanukkah - the end of Assyrian rule and the restoration of Jerusalem's time is celebrated.
Simchat Torah - celebrates the delivery of the Ten Commandments to Moses.

Spiritism - with 12,882,000 followers comes in eighth. Brazil has the largest number of adherents of religion. Most spiritualists claim to be Christian (for following Jesus' teachings) and there is debate about that.

Spiritism is the belief that the human essence is based on the existence of an immortal spirit, which may be among the living or not, admitting successive lives (reincarnation) or not and the communication between the living and the dead, usually through a medium. The term also designates the doctrine and practices of the people who share this belief.

Spiritism, in spite of its many variations, is generally based on the following points:

  • man is a spirit temporarily attached to a body (for Kardec this connection is made through a connection which he calls perispirit, a semimaterial wrap that is popularly called "soul" or "ghost");
  • the soul, specifically, is the spirit that is linked, or not, to the body (incarnate or disembodied);
  • the spirit, understood as the intelligent individuality of Creation, is immortal;
  • reincarnation is the natural process that allows successive lives (for Kardec with the function of allowing the perfection of spirits, linked to a "Law of Cause and Effect");
  • Earth is not the only planet with intelligent life (plurality of inhabited worlds).

Bahá'í Faith - with its 7,496,000 participants comes in ninth place. It arose in ancient Persia, present-day Iran, in 1844, and has no dogmas, rituals, clergy or priesthood, based on the belief in the unity of humanity, the search for truth and the end of prejudice. Its founder was buried at Bahjí Mansion, making the shrine one of the most important to believers of this religion.

The Bahá'í Faith was founded by Bahá'u'lláh in ancient Persia in 1844. Although it is a world faith with its own laws and sacred scriptures, it has no dogma, ritual, clergy or priesthood.

Bahá'u'lláh It is a title meaning "Glory of God". His followers are known as Baha'is. Being Bahá an Arabic term meaning "Glory" or "Splendor".

According to Bahá'í teachings, all revealed religions come from the Will of one God. In this conception the revelation is progressive, that is, in each age God sends his Protestants to educate humanity according to the spiritual development of humanity and needs of each period.

The Baha'is understand that human history has long been only the narration of the events of kingdoms, peoples, nations, religions and ideologies, and that the history of humanity as a planetary unity begins with the message of Bahá'u. Hi. The building of an ever-progressing global civilization that respects unity in diversity and humanity as a single race forms the essence of Baha'i practice.

Bahá'í Symbol Representing God's Connection To Humanity


All Bahá'í teachings revolve around three main foundations: the unity of God, the unity of His Prophets, the unity of humanity.


One of the symbols used in the Bahá'í Faith is a nine-pointed star that signifies the nine monotheistic religions: Sabbath, Hinduism, Judaism, Zoroastrianism, Buddhism, Christianity, Islam, Babí Faith and Bahá'í Faith.

The numbers 8 and 9 are greatly revered by the Baha'is, because this number appears several times in Bahá'í history, such as the period between the revelation of the Báb (1844) and that of Bahá'u'lláh (1853). , and mainly by the numerical value of the word Bahá 'in Arabic. Besides representing by many the number of perfection, or the largest digit number. On Mount Carmel at the Baha'i World Center in Haifa, there are considerable numbers of 8-pointed stars - the 8-pointed star represents the Islamic religion, whose architectural basis was used at the Petronas Towers in Malaysia - which is also commonly used for represent the Baha'i religion.